Switch from Vanilla to TAD?

No Flag arkz
Musketeer

Post by arkz »

Hi,

after owning Aoe3 for a long time I recently started playing a bit online (had maybe 50 online games a few years ago). Now I wonder wether or not it is worth switching to TAD. My main hope is that it will be easier to find games there. Is it?

OFc you also have more nations but right now that wouldn't really motivate me to get it since there are still vanilla-civs I'm totally unable to play on my current range of rank.

Thanks in advance for your help
France [Armag] diarouga
Ninja
NWC LAN Gold
ESO: diarouga

Post by [Armag] diarouga »

There is more people on TAD if you also have TWC.
If you want to improve, buy TAD because maps and the meta are more balanced. Also, a fanpatch is coming soon on TAD.
Don't forget that the best players are on tad and you won t really find any good recs on nilla.
Netherlands Mr_Bramboy
Retired Contributor
Donator 01
ESO: [VOC] Bram

Post by Mr_Bramboy »

What diarouga said, and you will most definitely become a better player on TAD because of the improved and added hotkeys.

On nilla, you can't bind Q to both an uhlan and a hussar, but on TAD you can.
No Flag arkz
Musketeer

Post by arkz »

Thanks for your answers.

Well, ofc I'd buy one of those packages with both add-ons since just the TAD-add-on isn't any cheaper as far as I know. However, I still consider ~15? for such an old game to be quite expensive. (The standard-price on Steam is mental anyway.)

But for me it really is about finding games quicker. I'm aware that this is probably a bit of an competitive environment here but as far as I'm concerned I just want to play the game and ofc win as much as possible, however, without aspiring to reach a certain level or something like that.

Still, I guess I'll get the add-ons sooner or later then.

About the hotkeys: Yeah, that actually is a nice little thing that could be improved in the vanilla-version.
No Flag purplesquid
Dragoon
Donator 03