No Flag Diabetusus
Crossbow

25 Oct 2017, 03:50

Hello all!

I am fairly new at this game, only about 6 days old, but I heard a lot about the French from a friend of mine (who's played it for about a week now.) I took some time to learn about herding, building, military and all those basic stuff most of you probably know. I also got interested in the samwise12 rush, but I am a bit tad slow and I really have no idea how to be a micro god. If there's any rush guide for French that's REALLY good, please do tell me.

The reason for this is that my friend is an Ottoman and I have no idea how to defend against his 15 abus guns and 15 janns rush. By the time my friend comes along, I have about 5 hussars and only 10 musketeer, two groups that died brutally. If it must be noted, I am no good at micro, so I basically had all of my hussars and musketeers fight straight on my friend's rush squad.

If in any way someone could give me a consistent guide of a French rush, please do tell me. But more importantly, how do I counter the Ottoman with the French?
United States of America CurassierAndCurassier
ESOC Media Team
ESO: Montcalm17

25 Oct 2017, 04:40

Ah, Otto. The bane of a new player's existence.

The Samwise build is probably the way to rush as France without a trading post. I don't know of a guide for the bow/pike but that's good as well. However you're looking at it from the wrong angle. You need to turtle against Otto.

What I would suggest (and I'm no expert but I've played plenty of French games) is a straight FF. I don't know how quick your friend is with this rush but if you practice you should be able to get up to age 3 in time. Then you got the 2 falc shipment + skirms and cuirs to deal with his rush.

Build: 3 Cdb -> 700c -> 700w. Age with The Governor for the outpost and coin. It'll be close, but ideally he pushes and you have an outpost, 2 falcs, minutemen, cdbs, and 10-15 skirms.