Request for Recommendation for Team Game Strategies

European Union stillenacht
Crossbow

Request for Recommendation for Team Game Strategies

Post by stillenacht »

Hi All!

I'm new to Age of Empires; my friends and I are organizing some LAN parties, and AOE3 is going to be one of the games we play. I was just wondering if I could get some recommendations for effective strategies in 2v2 or 3v3 play. I've played StarCraft 2 quite a bit, but that's the extent of my strategy game experience

1. What empire should I choose? Stylistically, I'd like to choose something American (I am the only American in our group), but I don't want to pick a weak race.
2. What sort of build orders should I follow? What defines them? What is a "fast fort?" Why are there sooo many rush builds? (I'd like to avoid rushing)
3. Generally, what sort of unit compositions are good in each stage of the game? What should a "final" unit comp look like?
Singapore milku3459
Howdah
ESO: milku3459

Re: Request for Recommendation for Team Game Strategies

Post by milku3459 »

My Favourite builds for 3v3 are British musketeers viewtopic.php?p=98012#top
Or Russian strelet (look on the strategy wall for the Boyars strat). I think Brits would be a good choice for you not just because they are relatively easy to play, but because they are the closest civ to America haha
Canada forgrin
Howdah
ESO: Forgrin

Post by forgrin »

stillenacht wrote:Hi All!

I'm new to Age of Empires; my friends and I are organizing some LAN parties, and AOE3 is going to be one of the games we play. I was just wondering if I could get some recommendations for effective strategies in 2v2 or 3v3 play. I've played StarCraft 2 quite a bit, but that's the extent of my strategy game experience

1. What empire should I choose? Stylistically, I'd like to choose something American (I am the only American in our group), but I don't want to pick a weak race.