net neutrality threatened

This is for discussions about news, politics, sports, other games, culture, philosophy etc.
Norway spanky4ever
Gendarme
iwillspankyou

net neutrality threatened

Post by spanky4ever »

This is the big issue right now. If you think its only USA citizens that will be inflicted - well think again- cos this is the WWW - and its concerning us ALL.
I will admit Im not an expert, or anything like that, but I will make this thread so we can have a discussion and exchange info about how it will affect us, and Twitch online streaming. Will the AOE 3, being a very "small" games for specially interested, be threatened by very slow streaming? I dont know, maybe you know more?
https://youtu.be/5Sk9k4B3M38
https://youtu.be/8TMnx5h5N_Q
https://youtu.be/zUjSRdYwrC4
phpBB [video]

many powerfull "players" are on our side on this issue
Hippocrits are the worst of animals. I love elifants.
Australia Pseudo-ku
Crossbow
ESO: Pseudoku

Re: net neutrality threatened

Post by Pseudo-ku »

this doesn't apply to australia though

how can you lose net neutrality when you don't have internet in the first place
Pseudo-ku#8217 on discord
/id/iampseudo on Steam

always available
hit me up anytime for
chats over coffee

<3
Nauru Dolan
Ninja

Post by Dolan »

I don't see how US legislation can apply to the rest of the world.

Twitch has servers in Europe too, which are not bound by US law, afaik.

So, imo, it's just an USA issue.
United States of America roiarthurbis
Skirmisher
Donator 01
ESO: roiarthurbis

Post by roiarthurbis »

Dolan wrote:I don't see how US legislation can apply to the rest of the world.

I think it's more of a precedent that it will set. The freedom icon of the world not having a neutral net.
Nauru Dolan
Ninja

Post by Dolan »

To me it looks like the logical effect of the American belief in the power of enterprise. As far as I know Americans always believed the government shouldn't mess with the free market and let things as unregulated as possible.