No Flag hellotissue
Crossbow
Posts: 37

25 Jun 2015, 07:38

Recently the idea of playing AoE3 on a mac comes to me and I decide to give it a try. I have successfully install AoE3 using CrossOver and being working on installing using WineSkin. Though numbers of players playing AoE3 on a mac is relatively small, I still hope this small guide could help and save your time :)
Special thanks to @mitoe and @durokan. Any comment or help is greatly appreciated :D
Attachments
InstallAoE3onmacusingCrossOver.pdf
(1.85 MiB) Downloaded 1566 times
User avatar
Canada Mitoe
ESOC Business Team
Posts: 2480
ESO: Mitoe

26 Jun 2015, 00:21

Great guide, thanks for writing this. :) I've stickied this thread, and will also be adding a future WineSkin guide for other Mac users.
No Flag Janer
Crossbow
Posts: 35

26 Jun 2015, 02:14

That's awesome! You should also consider posting this on the AOE3 subreddit, every now and then somebody posts asking how to play the game on a mac.

@Mitoe stop being a lazy fart and get on that!
No Flag shirine
Crossbow
Posts: 28

28 Jun 2015, 06:22

i play on mac hahahah funny! i think i was the only one =o
No Flag eitheror
Crossbow
Posts: 1

23 Aug 2015, 07:47

I had audio issues, so I found this (took me a while to find so thought I'd post it here):
https://www.codeweavers.com/compatibili ... ?msg=63693

Also after I did this, only vannilla worked, now uninstalling on steam and trying again... as I read that works.
No Flag salvinono
Crossbow
Posts: 1

31 Oct 2015, 11:00

Hi, i'm using a cracked version of crossover, but it didn't work.. Can u help me? your guide is well but I haven't AOE3 on the step 3..
User avatar
United States of America rickytickitembo
Dragoon
Posts: 242
ESO: RickyTickiTembo
Location: Denver, CO

14 Dec 2015, 06:51

Mitoe wrote:Great guide, thanks for writing this. :) I've stickied this thread, and will also be adding a future WineSkin guide for other Mac users.



@ Mitoe Did you ever make this link?

If someone is using WineSkin for Mac I could use some help. I have everything installed as far as I know but ran into some trouble.
http://i.imgur.com/DrUHRLl.png

On page 7 of the pdf number 2 Install AoE3 I get that error message.

http://i.imgur.com/Lxj3l0l.png

It doesn't say anything but just has the red X and my only option is to quit. I can't seem to follow his directions to fix this. Anyone know how to get this to work?
My favorite donut is chocolate Aiz.
User avatar
Canada Mitoe
ESOC Business Team
Posts: 2480
ESO: Mitoe

14 Dec 2015, 23:15

rickytickitembo wrote:
Mitoe wrote:Great guide, thanks for writing this. :) I've stickied this thread, and will also be adding a future WineSkin guide for other Mac users.



@ Mitoe Did you ever make this link?

If someone is using WineSkin for Mac I could use some help. I have everything installed as far as I know but ran into some trouble.
http://i.imgur.com/DrUHRLl.png

On page 7 of the pdf number 2 Install AoE3 I get that error message.

http://i.imgur.com/Lxj3l0l.png

It doesn't say anything but just has the red X and my only option is to quit. I can't seem to follow his directions to fix this. Anyone know how to get this to work?


PEYTON!

I don't have much experience with using the Steam version of AoE3 through WineSkin, but I can try it out and see what happens. If I can't figure it out, I could potentially send you my wineskin wrapper, which should work fine for you. I'll let you know.
User avatar
United States of America rickytickitembo
Dragoon
Posts: 242
ESO: RickyTickiTembo
Location: Denver, CO

15 Dec 2015, 02:28

Thanks Mitoe. I appreciate it! I plan on reviving PHX and taking over eso ;)
My favorite donut is chocolate Aiz.
User avatar
United States of America illusioNtEk
Skirmisher
Posts: 182
ESO: illusioNtEk
Location: Texas, USA

03 Jan 2016, 21:15

Cant you guys just get bootcamp and run AoE3 with Windows ??
No Flag H4all
Crossbow
Posts: 9

10 Jan 2016, 23:00

@ Rickiticki you should install the following files using the 'Winetricks'. Go to your steam wrapper, "show package content" => Wineskin. Go to "advanced" "tools" "Winetricks" search for d3dx9_36, dsound, msxml4, mfc42, l3codecx. Especially the msxml4 is important. Select the files and quick 'run'. Be sure they are installed. To see this, go to the little settings reel (left of custom...) and put on "show downloaded column" and "show installed column". Now you should be able to see if you're dlls are installed properly. This should fix the problem.

A problem I'm facing now is that TAD gets stuck in the loading screen... (loading screens stay black, but in nilla and TWC i'm able to skip through the blackness)
No Flag adderbrain5
Lancer
Posts: 874

25 May 2016, 22:19

thanks a lot, was just going to revive this issue, been posting about it for a year or so with no legit response. trying this now.



update: it all works! amazing! but there is still a serious problem! Unable to join a single game even over multiple networks/routers. any ideas?
No Flag adderbrain5
Lancer
Posts: 874

28 May 2016, 15:31

update, I'm still having severe fail to join issues. I'd calculate about 90% of games are fail to join. it seemed to help originally to restart the game, but now not even that does. Looking in the startup folder, the only file was speachrecognition.cfg. literally. No user.cfg, no game.cfg.... so i mean wtf? why wouldn't that be there? i tried to write my own with text wrangler in which I overid all ports 2300-2310 and some others... to no avail. any ideas?

BTW this is a much bigger problem on TAD it seems I can join most vanilla games.
User avatar
United States of America Eprus
Crossbow
Posts: 41
ESO: Eprus

03 Jun 2016, 20:28

Could one of you upload the wineskin wrapper?
User avatar
Netherlands Jerom
Ninja
Donator 03
Posts: 12422
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands

03 Jun 2016, 22:18

@Mitoe

"When life give you incompetence, participate in the betting" - Jerom, winner of autumn betting, 2016
"but wer eyiu playig a gainst someone as magnificent as jerom? thats wha ti thogutb jerom is a beaaitful human being"- Mr_Bramboy
User avatar
United States of America Eprus
Crossbow
Posts: 41
ESO: Eprus

03 Jun 2016, 23:39

Jerom wrote:@Mitoe

Thanks, I want to get back into this game :pop:
No Flag adderbrain5
Lancer
Posts: 874

11 Jun 2016, 17:27

illusioNtEk wrote:Cant you guys just get bootcamp and run AoE3 with Windows ??

i did that for about six months while working on my medals XD but alas the 90 day enterprise trial license once renewed has reached its limit. And i couldn't justify a quarter of my air HD for windows just for aoe3 anymore besides.u think I'm really going to buy a windows license PULLeASE!!! and i don't really feel like fucking around with cracked versions.
User avatar
United States of America Eprus
Crossbow
Posts: 41
ESO: Eprus

14 Jun 2016, 00:03

How do you update the esoc patch on that wine wrapper? it's outdated
User avatar
No Flag S_I_D_aoe3
Crossbow
Posts: 33

16 Jun 2016, 23:00

Hey guys. So my friend has Aoe3 on his Mac by Mitoe's Wineskin Wrapper but it wont run due to a 'Minimum System Requirement' alert that pops up and shuts aoe3 down. The thing is he had this problem before and was able to override it some how but we forget where the setting is. I was wondering if there was someone who was good with Mac's that knows which settings to go into to change the system req. Again, this worked before and we used it for like a year+ with no issues what so ever so its not that the Mac can't run it its that the error is in the way.
LP-33
User avatar
Canada Warno
Musketeer
Donator 03
Posts: 98
ESO: Warno

03 Jul 2016, 21:11

Hey there,
Just started playing again after a long lay off.

Used crossover to install in on my mac but I have no in game sounds/music?
Anyone else have this problem?
Thanks!
No Flag adderbrain5
Lancer
Posts: 874

12 Jul 2016, 15:40

Warno wrote:Hey there,
Just started playing again after a long lay off.

Used crossover to install in on my mac but I have no in game sounds/music?
Anyone else have this problem?
Thanks!

same exact story here, not sure why.. if you are able to figure out how to hack crossover's trial which expired for me but i don't want to pay 40 bucks for some BS program let me know. thanks.
New Caledonia kimjunun
Crossbow
Posts: 4
ESO: Kimjunun

17 Jan 2017, 15:47

I also have no in game sounds on Crossover. Hopefully we can discover a solution.
User avatar
Canada Lunatic_Fringe
Skirmisher
Posts: 118
ESO: Lunatic_Fringe
Location: Canada

19 Jan 2017, 02:31

Thanks. That's a great guide!
User avatar
No Flag cohenski
Musketeer
Posts: 63

22 Jan 2017, 22:54

Mitoe wrote:Great guide, thanks for writing this. :) I've stickied this thread, and will also be adding a future WineSkin guide for other Mac users.


how do u play on wineskin!??1?! it make game break freeze go black nothing reason. this is bad never again. mitoe is overrated and canadian
United States of America pandemonium_
Crossbow
Posts: 6
ESO: pandemonium_

08 Feb 2017, 03:06

For people looking for alternatives, I've had good success on a 2008 macbook pro. I use parallels to run windows XP and launch the game via steam from there. Never had audio issues or other technical difficulties in running the game.

Forum Info

Return to “Tech Support”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest