Grouping Military units .

Germany Dieter Cordes
Crossbow
ESO: google

Grouping Military units .

Post by Dieter Cordes »

I am new to this game .
When I try to group military units using the instructions to " Drag around the military units you want to group .
Hold down the CTRL key and press the number you want to assign to this group "
I do this but the selected group never responds to the assigned number .
Any ideas as to what the problem could be .
I am using Windows 7 , Home Premium and AOE3 , Games for Windows , Complete Collection , Version 1.14 .
United States of America Metis
Howdah

Re: Grouping Military units .

Post by Metis »

Make sure the selected group is still selected when you press Ctrl-number. Also, if you have a number of the same units in an area you can double-click them rather than dragging a box. All units of a certain type, everywhere, can be grouped by using the "Find all of selected type" hotkey. I don't know what that is originally as I've re-keyed it to `, which is easy to find at the left of the keyboard.
Germany Dieter Cordes
Crossbow

Post by Dieter Cordes »

This issue is driving me up a wall . When I use the Hot Keys to find specific buildings it works fine . i.e CTRL B = Barracks . CTRL S = Stable .
However when I try to group military units , it does not matter which method I use , it will not work .
Is there a patch around to solve this problem ???
Howdah

Post by Metis »

Grouping is basic to the hotkey code.

For instance:

<keymapdata>
<name>Create Group 1</name>
<displayname>$$20524$$1</displayname>
<displayformat>$$43374$$Create Group %s</displayformat>
<event>control-1</event>
<context>game</context>
<command>uiCreateNumberGroup(1)</command>
</keymapdata>