Austria Jerimuno
Dragoon
Posts: 201
ESO: Jerimuno

27 Oct 2017, 19:10

I am used to having the auto update fail, I always have to download the esoc patch from scratch once an update comes out. However today the installation of the ep failed, and it gave me an error: https://puu.sh/y8CRX/f4a7635482.png

it says a file can't be made, when it already exists. I just don't know which file they are talking about ^^ i can click ignore, but then it says: https://puu.sh/y8CWx/f8cf42ae8f.png access denied

hope someone can help
User avatar
Norway iwillspankyou
Jaeger
iwillspankyou
Posts: 3048

27 Oct 2017, 19:19

ask @EAGLEMUT he will surely help u. If you avast antivirus you will have problems though :hmm:
Hippocrits are the worst of animals. I love elifants.
User avatar
Czech Republic EAGLEMUT
ESOC Dev Team
Donator 04
Posts: 2287
ESO: EAGLEMUT
Location: [WPact]

27 Oct 2017, 19:19

Hey, this is usually caused by insufficient permissions or your antivirus blocking the installation.
Try to launch EP in administrator mode and if that doesn't help, check in your antivirus software logs to make an exception for EP.
Image
Austria Jerimuno
Dragoon
Posts: 201
ESO: Jerimuno

27 Oct 2017, 19:36

i couldnt find anything in the antivirus which would block me from using the ep. But i found the file newesocpatchlauncher and was able to start it, however when i clicked on launch ESOC patch it said for some unknown reason we were not able to start the game.
I think it just has to do with some files being in the wrong folders, is there a way i can deinstall all of the ep files that i already have and reinstall it afterwards? i guess that would help
User avatar
Czech Republic EAGLEMUT
ESOC Dev Team
Donator 04
Posts: 2287
ESO: EAGLEMUT
Location: [WPact]

27 Oct 2017, 19:42

I will be uploading the raw files so you can just download those and paste them into your installation folder.
Image
Austria Jerimuno
Dragoon
Posts: 201
ESO: Jerimuno

27 Oct 2017, 19:43

that's super nice thanks ^^
User avatar
Austria KINGofOsmane
Jaeger
Posts: 2693
ESO: KINGofOsmane
Location: Walling Town

27 Oct 2017, 20:11

du scheiß low
Image

VaneStoilov: the difference between aztec and otto is that with aztec you make vills
"gua has good mechanics" GiBthedurrty 2017
Venezuela Hazza54321
Jaeger
Posts: 3963

27 Oct 2017, 20:13

Jerimuno wrote:I am used to having the auto update fail, I always have to download the esoc patch from scratch once an update comes out. However today the installation of the ep failed, and it gave me an error: https://puu.sh/y8CRX/f4a7635482.png

it says a file can't be made, when it already exists. I just don't know which file they are talking about ^^ i can click ignore, but then it says: https://puu.sh/y8CWx/f8cf42ae8f.png access denied

hope someone can help

you dodge a bullet my good sir
Venividivici_w: i heard h20 signed up last minute. Prob waited for roby not signing up so he wouldnt get smashed again
My recently started youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChh6jN ... 15ZhFONCBg
Austria Jerimuno
Dragoon
Posts: 201
ESO: Jerimuno

27 Oct 2017, 20:15

hah
User avatar
Norway iwillspankyou
Jaeger
iwillspankyou
Posts: 3048

27 Oct 2017, 20:16

your still a darling - fixing our problems that could get us grey hair before our time @EAGLEMUT - btw, did you know I named my explorer after you? Me - Eaglemut huhh - maybe not the place to post this - but still -your help kept me in the game. I was about to give up.
Hippocrits are the worst of animals. I love elifants.
User avatar
Australia Timba
Skirmisher
Posts: 112
ESO: Timba_
Location: Straya

27 Oct 2017, 22:00

I'm getting the same error. Thanks in advance, @EAGLEMUT :)
The best moment I've ever seen in AoEIII: youtu.be/LuMcFUjt6zQ?t=12m
User avatar
Czech Republic EAGLEMUT
ESOC Dev Team
Donator 04
Posts: 2287
ESO: EAGLEMUT
Location: [WPact]

28 Oct 2017, 01:06

You can obtain the files for manual update here now: http://eso-community.net/assets/patch/files/Update_4.0.0.0_manual.zip
Extract into your AoE3 installation directory (where your age3y.exe is located), then you should be able to just run the launcher.
Image
Austria Jerimuno
Dragoon
Posts: 201
ESO: Jerimuno

28 Oct 2017, 13:05

First off, thanks for the work you put into this, really appreciated. I downloaded your zip file and extracted it into the folder where my age3y.exe was located. In that process it asked me to replace a couple items with the same version because they were already in place, no big deal, but after that it still says "for some unknown reason ..was not able to launch the game".

I think my entire folder is just hugely messed up, so i included pictures of all the files which are currently in the folder, after having extracted your zip file. I think there just has to be something wrong regarding the files in there, maybe you can see where the issue is? Thanks again for your huge help!

https://puu.sh/y99o7/61123eebac.png
https://puu.sh/y99oN/d17a4b2b96.png
https://puu.sh/y99pI/2557202000.png
https://puu.sh/y99qp/86c8fe8c50.png
https://puu.sh/y99ra/83afcc6807.png
Austria Jerimuno
Dragoon
Posts: 201
ESO: Jerimuno

28 Oct 2017, 21:53

@Timba did it work for you?
User avatar
Australia Timba
Skirmisher
Posts: 112
ESO: Timba_
Location: Straya

28 Oct 2017, 21:58

Jerimuno wrote:@Timba did it work for you?

Was just typing out my reply as you sent this :hehe:

What I did was re-install the patch, then copy over all of the files from Eaglemut's zip file. I said 'replace all' to any double-ups. I had some minor issues with making sure that they all copied across, but I think if it's copied correctly it will work.

EDIT: I think the re-install helped the most because my files were a bit cluttered as well. Also, I made sure that I extracted the files from the zip file before copying them across.
The best moment I've ever seen in AoEIII: youtu.be/LuMcFUjt6zQ?t=12m
Austria Jerimuno
Dragoon
Posts: 201
ESO: Jerimuno

28 Oct 2017, 22:31

Okay good to hear, i guess I'll just play around with it a bit more :P
Austria Jerimuno
Dragoon
Posts: 201
ESO: Jerimuno

28 Oct 2017, 22:36

Weill that playing around thing was a bit preemptive, as i have no clue of what I'm doing. I still think my problem is that I have files which the EP wants to download/rename and it doesn't work, so I would like to delete those files, but I don't know which ones! Can i for example just delete the age3y.exe file, and reinstall the patch?
User avatar
Australia Timba
Skirmisher
Posts: 112
ESO: Timba_
Location: Straya

28 Oct 2017, 22:44

I went to /esoc-patch.php and re-installed the patch. The install program will ask if you want to uninstall the previous one. This cleaned it up for me.
The best moment I've ever seen in AoEIII: youtu.be/LuMcFUjt6zQ?t=12m
Austria Jerimuno
Dragoon
Posts: 201
ESO: Jerimuno

28 Oct 2017, 22:48

Yup, I did that like 10 times already in the process haha

After uninstalling and while installing the new one I always get the error messages which i showed in my first post sadly :(
User avatar
Australia Timba
Skirmisher
Posts: 112
ESO: Timba_
Location: Straya

28 Oct 2017, 22:56

I'm not sure then, sorry. @EAGLEMUT or anyone else, please help.
The best moment I've ever seen in AoEIII: youtu.be/LuMcFUjt6zQ?t=12m
User avatar
Czech Republic EAGLEMUT
ESOC Dev Team
Donator 04
Posts: 2287
ESO: EAGLEMUT
Location: [WPact]

29 Oct 2017, 00:00

From the picture it seems like you have all the necessary files. Definitely don't delete age3y.exe, that is the RE launcher.
I would say try to disable your antivirus, reinstall EP and see if it works.
Image
Austria Jerimuno
Dragoon
Posts: 201
ESO: Jerimuno

29 Oct 2017, 11:16

Hm, i deactivated real time scan and firewall and reinstalled EP. While installing I still get the errors:
https://puu.sh/y9PAn/13c64fee8c.png
and https://puu.sh/y9PAH/93dea7de70.png

and after clicking ignore i get the mesage: https://puu.sh/y9PBu/e2d1567d4e.png

all while having deactivated my anti virus
User avatar
Czech Republic EAGLEMUT
ESOC Dev Team
Donator 04
Posts: 2287
ESO: EAGLEMUT
Location: [WPact]

29 Oct 2017, 12:43

Make sure it's really deactivated completely; from what I've found around on Google, AV is the most common cause of this error. Aside from that, make sure you are running the installer as administrator (right click -> run as administrator).
Image
Austria Jerimuno
Dragoon
Posts: 201
ESO: Jerimuno

30 Oct 2017, 15:52

Running the ep installer as admin finally made it work, thank you so much for your help @EAGLEMUT :biggrin:
Austria Jerimuno
Dragoon
Posts: 201
ESO: Jerimuno

07 Nov 2017, 14:25

ep 4.1 update means i have to install EP all over again, just like I'm used to... but now not even deactivating my antivirus and running both the ep installer and the ep as admin works, im getting really tired of this. i know its just my antivirus or whatever but still this shit is driving me nuts

and the EP launcher looks like this now: instead of the normal logo, no idea why

Forum Info

Return to “ESOC Patch Discussion”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests