User avatar
United States of America giveuanxiety
Howdah
Donator 02
Posts: 1289
ESO: GiveUAnxiety

09 Nov 2019, 14:48

Follow my stream @ twitch.tv/giveuanxiety
User avatar
United States of America HeadKilla
ESOC Media Team
The Big Game Hunter - Bronze ElephantDonator Best
Posts: 287
ESO: Headkilla
Location: Minnesota

09 Nov 2019, 14:53

Wish I had interest in this game.
User avatar
United States of America n0el
ESOC Business Team
Posts: 3690
ESO: n0eL

09 Nov 2019, 14:57

Chump change to Viper, when you get 1500 viewers every stream.
SirCallen wrote:Just drink the beer as it is, you hipsters.
User avatar
United States of America giveuanxiety
Howdah
Donator 02
Posts: 1289
ESO: GiveUAnxiety

09 Nov 2019, 14:59

ya agree Noel, I wonder if that money is all from viper or some from aoe/mixer. I doubt its all from viper tbh. This is good tho, image this for AOE3 DE.
Follow my stream @ twitch.tv/giveuanxiety
User avatar
United States of America n0el
ESOC Business Team
Posts: 3690
ESO: n0eL

09 Nov 2019, 16:30

Ya, I agree. Microsoft is probably kicking in.
SirCallen wrote:Just drink the beer as it is, you hipsters.
User avatar
Italy Garja
ESOC Maps Team
Donator 02
Posts: 7791
ESO: Garja

09 Nov 2019, 17:35

I dont think there is a single penny from the viper.
User avatar
Netherlands Goodspeed
Retired Contributor
EPL Reigning Champs
Posts: 8002

09 Nov 2019, 17:52

I don't see the core AoE2 multiplayer community actually moving to DE in its current state tbh, no matter how many promotional streams/tournaments you throw at the problem
User avatar
United States of America giveuanxiety
Howdah
Donator 02
Posts: 1289
ESO: GiveUAnxiety

09 Nov 2019, 17:59

I dunno about that, I feel like the DE is going pretty well so far.
Follow my stream @ twitch.tv/giveuanxiety
User avatar
Netherlands Goodspeed
Retired Contributor
EPL Reigning Champs
Posts: 8002

09 Nov 2019, 18:08

:hmm: Based on what exactly? Promotional streams that people are getting paid for?

The game has too many issues to effectively replace voobly right now, and there's no way they'll fix them before release. Most importantly performance and the multiplayer lobby/match making system. Whether it eventually replaces voobly will depend on whether MS can fix the game before the hype dies down.

https://www.aoezone.net/threads/will-de ... ad.162043/

edit: In that thread ZeroEmpires just posted a link to a video he made about the match making system that pretty concisely illustrates how no one in their right mind will switch if it stays as is.
User avatar
Argentina Riotcoke
Jaeger
Donator 01
Posts: 2125
ESO: Riotcoke
Location: Best County in the UK

09 Nov 2019, 18:19

The performance issues cant be solved to the extent that they need to be, problem with aoe2 is a lot of people who play the game don't have great hardware. And with the graphical improvements being on such an old engine making the game run smoothly on sub-par hardware is going to be very iffy.
Islas Malvinas son Britanicas
User avatar
Armenia Sargsyan
Jaeger
Donator 01
Posts: 2266
ESO: Sargsyan
Location: Armenia
GameRanger ID: 2106182

09 Nov 2019, 20:42

Riotcoke wrote:The performance issues cant be solved to the extent that they need to be, problem with aoe2 is a lot of people who play the game don't have great hardware. And with the graphical improvements being on such an old engine making the game run smoothly on sub-par hardware is going to be very iffy.

ok boomer
Image
Image
User avatar
Czech Republic EAGLEMUT
ESOC Dev Team
Donator 05
Posts: 3551
ESO: EAGLEMUT
Location: [WPact]

09 Nov 2019, 20:54

Riotcoke wrote:The performance issues cant be solved to the extent that they need to be, problem with aoe2 is a lot of people who play the game don't have great hardware. And with the graphical improvements being on such an old engine making the game run smoothly on sub-par hardware is going to be very iffy.

Well, firstly you have to realize that the game runs on a single CPU core, so it's very possible even if you have "great hardware" like some latest CPU with 80 cores, it's not gonna help you and you'll just keep lagging while utilizing 2% of your CPU resources. That said, the performance has been okayish for myself, I'm hitting around 40 fps on 2560x1440 maxed graphics with my Windows 7 PC that I mostly built in 2013. Right now I'm most concerned about the RAM usage, think I'll have to double up to 32GB because this game is damn hungry.
Image
momuuu wrote:theres no way eaglemut is truly a top player
User avatar
Canada Mitoe
ESOC Media Team
EWTNWC LAN Top 8
Posts: 4228
ESO: Mitoe
GameRanger ID: 346407

10 Nov 2019, 04:16

Goodspeed wrote::hmm: Based on what exactly? Promotional streams that people are getting paid for?

The game has too many issues to effectively replace voobly right now, and there's no way they'll fix them before release. Most importantly performance and the multiplayer lobby/match making system. Whether it eventually replaces voobly will depend on whether MS can fix the game before the hype dies down.

https://www.aoezone.net/threads/will-de ... ad.162043/

edit: In that thread ZeroEmpires just posted a link to a video he made about the match making system that pretty concisely illustrates how no one in their right mind will switch if it stays as is.

Just another incomplete, unpolished Age game. Getting real sick of this trend and how they can't even get it right even for remakes.

Basically all of the feedback I've heard about AoE1 and AoE2 DE just makes me want to give up all hope on AoE3 DE to be honest.
User avatar
Czech Republic EAGLEMUT
ESOC Dev Team
Donator 05
Posts: 3551
ESO: EAGLEMUT
Location: [WPact]

10 Nov 2019, 05:34

I think that's too grim of an outlook, AoE2:DE is looking to release in a much better state than AoE1:DE did. It also has real "killer" features like server-based multiplayer, action queue, farm reseed, other QoL... and of course new content and new graphics. It's got some carrots to attract both casuals and competitive players. I'm cautiously optimistic.
Image
momuuu wrote:theres no way eaglemut is truly a top player
User avatar
Netherlands Goodspeed
Retired Contributor
EPL Reigning Champs
Posts: 8002

10 Nov 2019, 09:55

As is, most players won't even be able to run the game in max pop 3v3s/4v4s. Max pop is very common in AoE2 teamgames for the record. And the multiplayer lobby system needs a pretty big overhaul. You can't even chat, and not being able to pick a map for ranked play immediately disqualifies the game as a competitor to voobly. More worrying is that it shows that they still don't really care about multiplayer. Anyone would have told them that you have to be able to pick a map or at least exclude certain maps, if they had cared to listen.
Germany lordraphael
Jaeger
EWTNWC LAN SilverDonator 01
Posts: 2360

10 Nov 2019, 10:23

I wonder how it's possible that such core features aren't in a game that being released in 2019. Not like those are some hard to implement features
breeze wrote:they cant even guess how much f***ing piece of stupid retarded they look they are trying to give lesson to people who are over pr35 and know the best mu. im pretty sure that we need a page that only pr30+ post and then we could have a nice discussins.
Great Britain WickedCossack
Retired Contributor
Posts: 1743

10 Nov 2019, 11:01

I'll pick it up to play some of the new campaigns.

I'm so predisposed to the aoe3 multiplayer lobby that the aoe2 one looks garbage to me. It feels so small? From what I can see there's no rank sort (#1 feature) and you can't see who's in the game without joining. To be fair it looks like they are trying to push people to the ranked queue option so they didn't want to pump lobby matchmaking full of goodies.

@Goodspeed No way you can't pick a map though? You must be wrong there or that's serious?
User avatar
Australia robo
Musketeer
Posts: 98
ESO: robo_boro
Location: UK

10 Nov 2019, 12:10

Ranked queue currently is a pool of 11 standard maps. You random one and then can pick a civ if you choose based on the map.

The problem is, out of those 11 maps maybe 3 see regular tournament play another 3 occasionally and the rest are just shit maps.

And it is missing many staple maps that people want to play. No bf or nomad for team games, no arena 1v1s etc
No Flag Ting
Crossbow
Posts: 31

15 Nov 2019, 15:46

EAGLEMUT wrote:
Riotcoke wrote:The performance issues cant be solved to the extent that they need to be, problem with aoe2 is a lot of people who play the game don't have great hardware. And with the graphical improvements being on such an old engine making the game run smoothly on sub-par hardware is going to be very iffy.

Well, firstly you have to realize that the game runs on a single CPU core, so it's very possible even if you have "great hardware" like some latest CPU with 80 cores, it's not gonna help you and you'll just keep lagging while utilizing 2% of your CPU resources. That said, the performance has been okayish for myself, I'm hitting around 40 fps on 2560x1440 maxed graphics with my Windows 7 PC that I mostly built in 2013. Right now I'm most concerned about the RAM usage, think I'll have to double up to 32GB because this game is damn hungry.


How were you able to play it on Windows 7?
User avatar
Czech Republic EAGLEMUT
ESOC Dev Team
Donator 05
Posts: 3551
ESO: EAGLEMUT
Location: [WPact]

15 Nov 2019, 17:18

Ting wrote:
EAGLEMUT wrote:
Riotcoke wrote:The performance issues cant be solved to the extent that they need to be, problem with aoe2 is a lot of people who play the game don't have great hardware. And with the graphical improvements being on such an old engine making the game run smoothly on sub-par hardware is going to be very iffy.

Well, firstly you have to realize that the game runs on a single CPU core, so it's very possible even if you have "great hardware" like some latest CPU with 80 cores, it's not gonna help you and you'll just keep lagging while utilizing 2% of your CPU resources. That said, the performance has been okayish for myself, I'm hitting around 40 fps on 2560x1440 maxed graphics with my Windows 7 PC that I mostly built in 2013. Right now I'm most concerned about the RAM usage, think I'll have to double up to 32GB because this game is damn hungry.


How were you able to play it on Windows 7?

It should just work. Launch it and that's it, nothing special.
In fact the community manager confirmed that Win7 support was added in deliberately:
Image
User avatar
Netherlands edeholland
ESOC Community Team
Donator 01
Posts: 4013
ESO: edeholland
Location: the cloud
GameRanger ID: 4053888

15 Nov 2019, 17:21

Ting wrote:
EAGLEMUT wrote:
Riotcoke wrote:The performance issues cant be solved to the extent that they need to be, problem with aoe2 is a lot of people who play the game don't have great hardware. And with the graphical improvements being on such an old engine making the game run smoothly on sub-par hardware is going to be very iffy.

Well, firstly you have to realize that the game runs on a single CPU core, so it's very possible even if you have "great hardware" like some latest CPU with 80 cores, it's not gonna help you and you'll just keep lagging while utilizing 2% of your CPU resources. That said, the performance has been okayish for myself, I'm hitting around 40 fps on 2560x1440 maxed graphics with my Windows 7 PC that I mostly built in 2013. Right now I'm most concerned about the RAM usage, think I'll have to double up to 32GB because this game is damn hungry.


How were you able to play it on Windows 7?
This pinned thread should help out: https://steamcommunity.com/app/813780/d ... 084850620/
Image

Forum Info

Return to “General”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests