User avatar
Great Britain TheNameDaniel
Dragoon
Posts: 230
ESO: Danielek
Location: UK

07 May 2019, 22:37

So I'm still using the default hotkeys, sometimes its hard to make units but ive gotten used to them now but I was wondering how other players have set up their hotkeys and settings. would anyone like to share theirs?
Bhutan jgals
Lancer
Posts: 554
ESO: OstiferButthole
Location: USA

07 May 2019, 22:51

I use
Caps lock for TC
A for villager
. for idle vil
scroll wheel for select all unit
Forward custom mouse button (ATT move)
space - center on building/unit
I DISABLE auto CENTER ON UNIT/ BUILDING when hotkey so that I can make vil without going back to TC
? is explorer
D is crackshot/stun (although I have to change this depending on civ)
F is convert guardian.
I think that's it.
United States of America onfiregun17
Crossbow
Posts: 20
ESO: onfiregun17

07 May 2019, 23:06

For the most part I just use Mr Milo's hotkeys. The only big changes I've made to those hotkeys are eject all units to N and switching control groups 6-9 to F1-F4.
Austria Jerimuno
Lancer
Summer 2015 winner
Posts: 508
ESO: Jerimuno
GameRanger ID: 9241516

07 May 2019, 23:29

for creating units i use default hotkeys too

there is only one hotkey that i really enjoy using, and couldnt play without, namely shift+y for find idle villagers. by using this you automatically select a group of idle vills which are closeby somewhere on the map (and not all of your idle vils all across the map).
User avatar
France Aykin Haraka
Lancer
EWT
Posts: 734
ESO: Aykin

07 May 2019, 23:34

default hotkeys best hotkeys
Bhutan jgals
Lancer
Posts: 554
ESO: OstiferButthole
Location: USA

08 May 2019, 00:35

onfiregun17 wrote:For the most part I just use Mr Milo's hotkeys. The only big changes I've made to those hotkeys are eject all units to N and switching control groups 6-9 to F1-F4.

I thought that is a standard hotkey lol. Thats what mine is too
United States of America onfiregun17
Crossbow
Posts: 20
ESO: onfiregun17

08 May 2019, 03:42

jgals wrote:
onfiregun17 wrote:For the most part I just use Mr Milo's hotkeys. The only big changes I've made to those hotkeys are eject all units to N and switching control groups 6-9 to F1-F4.

I thought that is a standard hotkey lol. Thats what mine is too

That's just for the TC actually. Under "Command Hotkeys" there's another field called "Eject Units" that effects outposts, castles, etc. I find it useful to just have one key that also affects those. Useful for ungarrisoning/vill hopping when you need to.
Bhutan jgals
Lancer
Posts: 554
ESO: OstiferButthole
Location: USA

08 May 2019, 13:09

onfiregun17 wrote:
jgals wrote:
onfiregun17 wrote:For the most part I just use Mr Milo's hotkeys. The only big changes I've made to those hotkeys are eject all units to N and switching control groups 6-9 to F1-F4.

I thought that is a standard hotkey lol. Thats what mine is too

That's just for the TC actually. Under "Command Hotkeys" there's another field called "Eject Units" that effects outposts, castles, etc. I find it useful to just have one key that also affects those. Useful for ungarrisoning/vill hopping when you need to.

Thats OP I've always done those manually, docks towers etc. I just assumed the hotkey didn't work for it.
User avatar
Kiribati SirCallen
Gendarme
Posts: 8011
ESO: SirCallen
Location: Midwest best west

08 May 2019, 13:11

jgals wrote:
onfiregun17 wrote:
Show hidden quotes

That's just for the TC actually. Under "Command Hotkeys" there's another field called "Eject Units" that effects outposts, castles, etc. I find it useful to just have one key that also affects those. Useful for ungarrisoning/vill hopping when you need to.

Thats OP I've always done those manually, docks towers etc. I just assumed the hotkey didn't work for it.

If you read my hotkey guide you'd know this.
and the giving famishes the craving
sweet thames, run softly, til I end my song

The shepherd's staff's tantalus around my neck

let the water
touch the tongue
User avatar
Denmark crjensen4
Dragoon
Donator 07
Posts: 210
ESO: crjensen4

08 May 2019, 20:05

Just get the Zboard Age of Empires III Keyset
Belgium stanleywinston
Skirmisher
Donator 01
Posts: 170
ESO: Stanley_Winston
Location: Belgium

09 May 2019, 09:58

I've remapped every unit type to a specific key:

- Heavy infantry/cavalry: A/Q (sepoy, musketeer, ashigaru - cuirassier, war wagon, mahout...)
- Light cavalry: Z/W (hussar, axe rider, cossack, uhlan, sowar, coyote ...)
- Light infantry/cav: E (skirmisher, cassador, gurkha, yumi, longbow, maces - dragoon, zamburak, ruyter, ...)
- Any other unit type: R (lancer, rifle-rider, howdah, pikemen, warclub, puma ...)
- If there occur mapping problems: D (halberdier/rodelero, doppelsoldner...)

which makes every civ the same to play as the unit types are all the same and you don't have to wonder about the hotkey for the specific unit, just the unit type. For buildings it's the default hotkeys.

Mellee/Volley mode is also remapped to:

X for melee/pack cannons
V for volley/unpack cannons
C for covermode
User avatar
Kiribati SirCallen
Gendarme
Posts: 8011
ESO: SirCallen
Location: Midwest best west

10 May 2019, 00:53

stanleywinston wrote:I've remapped every unit type to a specific key:

- Heavy infantry/cavalry: A/Q (sepoy, musketeer, ashigaru - cuirassier, war wagon, mahout...)
- Light cavalry: Z/W (hussar, axe rider, cossack, uhlan, sowar, coyote ...)
- Light infantry/cav: E (skirmisher, cassador, gurkha, yumi, longbow, maces - dragoon, zamburak, ruyter, ...)
- Any other unit type: R (lancer, rifle-rider, howdah, pikemen, warclub, puma ...)
- If there occur mapping problems: D (halberdier/rodelero, doppelsoldner...)

which makes every civ the same to play as the unit types are all the same and you don't have to wonder about the hotkey for the specific unit, just the unit type. For buildings it's the default hotkeys.

Mellee/Volley mode is also remapped to:

X for melee/pack cannons
V for volley/unpack cannons
C for covermode

Stanley loseton
and the giving famishes the craving
sweet thames, run softly, til I end my song

The shepherd's staff's tantalus around my neck

let the water
touch the tongue
India Shikari
Dragoon
Posts: 270
ESO: rahuru

10 May 2019, 04:18

How much time does it even saves to make units with a hotkey instead of just clicking it. I use hotkey for every thing just not for making unit. I wonder is it worth learning it.
Australia Kawapasaka
Lancer
Donator 06
Posts: 526
ESO: skirmisher1380
Location: Wales (new, south)

10 May 2019, 04:38

Shikari wrote:How much time does it even saves to make units with a hotkey instead of just clicking it. I use hotkey for every thing just not for making unit. I wonder is it worth learning it.


Definitely worth it, you don't want to waste precious mouse time finishing reinforcing batches in the middle of a fight. Doesn't take very long to learn either, I just started using the MrMilo set-up the other day and am pretty used to it already.
Belgium stanleywinston
Skirmisher
Donator 01
Posts: 170
ESO: Stanley_Winston
Location: Belgium

11 May 2019, 13:31

SirCallen wrote:
stanleywinston wrote:I've remapped every unit type to a specific key:

- Heavy infantry/cavalry: A/Q (sepoy, musketeer, ashigaru - cuirassier, war wagon, mahout...)
- Light cavalry: Z/W (hussar, axe rider, cossack, uhlan, sowar, coyote ...)
- Light infantry/cav: E (skirmisher, cassador, gurkha, yumi, longbow, maces - dragoon, zamburak, ruyter, ...)
- Any other unit type: R (lancer, rifle-rider, howdah, pikemen, warclub, puma ...)
- If there occur mapping problems: D (halberdier/rodelero, doppelsoldner...)

which makes every civ the same to play as the unit types are all the same and you don't have to wonder about the hotkey for the specific unit, just the unit type. For buildings it's the default hotkeys.

Mellee/Volley mode is also remapped to:

X for melee/pack cannons
V for volley/unpack cannons
C for covermode

Stanley loseton


Sad but true
User avatar
Brazil Majora_
Crossbow
Posts: 43
ESO: Majora_

12 May 2019, 06:58

SirCallen wrote:
jgals wrote:
Show hidden quotes

Thats OP I've always done those manually, docks towers etc. I just assumed the hotkey didn't work for it.

If you read my hotkey guide you'd know this.

where is it?
User avatar
Brazil Majora_
Crossbow
Posts: 43
ESO: Majora_

12 May 2019, 07:34

Jerimuno wrote:for creating units i use default hotkeys too

there is only one hotkey that i really enjoy using, and couldnt play without, namely shift+y for find idle villagers. by using this you automatically select a group of idle vills which are closeby somewhere on the map (and not all of your idle vils all across the map).

that was op! thx
France flontier
Dragoon
Posts: 235
ESO: Flontier

12 May 2019, 09:43

Is there any left handed here among the top players to post their hotkeys ? I am and I had a hard time to find good set up without having to cross too much my arm on the keyboard.
User avatar
Canada Mitoe
ESOC Media Team
EWTNWC LAN Top 8
Posts: 4141
ESO: Mitoe
GameRanger ID: 346407

12 May 2019, 09:50

User avatar
Armenia Sargsyan
Jaeger
Donator 01
Posts: 2110
ESO: Sargsyan
Location: Armenia
GameRanger ID: 2106182

12 May 2019, 09:58

flontier wrote:Is there any left handed here among the top players to post their hotkeys ? I am and I had a hard time to find good set up without having to cross too much my arm on the keyboard.

I'm left handed and i don't see any problem regarding oneself being left or right handed, either way you're using your right hand for the mouse and you set up the hotkeys on the left side of the keyboard
France flontier
Dragoon
Posts: 235
ESO: Flontier

12 May 2019, 10:24

Sargsyan wrote:
flontier wrote:Is there any left handed here among the top players to post their hotkeys ? I am and I had a hard time to find good set up without having to cross too much my arm on the keyboard.

I'm left handed and i don't see any problem regarding oneself being left or right handed, either way you're using your right hand for the mouse and you set up the hotkeys on the left side of the keyboard


I dont get what you mean by using the right hand for the mouse, if im left handed how can i ? im not sure to be able to launch the game if i control the mouse with my wrong hand on my desktop.
User avatar
Armenia Sargsyan
Jaeger
Donator 01
Posts: 2110
ESO: Sargsyan
Location: Armenia
GameRanger ID: 2106182

12 May 2019, 10:26

flontier wrote:
Sargsyan wrote:
flontier wrote:Is there any left handed here among the top players to post their hotkeys ? I am and I had a hard time to find good set up without having to cross too much my arm on the keyboard.

I'm left handed and i don't see any problem regarding oneself being left or right handed, either way you're using your right hand for the mouse and you set up the hotkeys on the left side of the keyboard


I dont get what you mean by using the right hand for the mouse, if im left handed how can i ? im not sure to be able to launch the game if i control the mouse with my wrong hand on my desktop.

Wait you control the mouse with your left hand ? That sounds weird tbh haha
Great Britain WickedCossack
Retired Contributor
Posts: 1729

12 May 2019, 10:37

flontier wrote:Is there any left handed here among the top players to post their hotkeys ? I am and I had a hard time to find good set up without having to cross too much my arm on the keyboard.


Not left handed but I do play using my left hand on the mouse so this should still be valid. I also think my hotkeys are not that great but I'm not going to change them after 10 years out of habit, far too much effort. But for your interests the main keys are as follows:

1-3: Army
4: TC
5-6: Rax & Stable
E: Villager & House

I usually rest my first finger on E, and the next fingers on 4, 5 & 6. Thumb chills on the left hand side of the space bar (homecity.)

Use fingers to 1a 2a 3a. I also have idle villager on Q for easy access. S ungarrison at TC.

Other keys you shouldn't copy with this set up I use B for TC (hit with thumb) and G for barracks (also thumb) M&L&I for market, plant & mill (hard to hit.) These if I had the care to do so should all really be moved to W,Z,X etc.

D for dock still works with this though, just want to avoid keys on the right.

I don't use unit hotkeys but if you did you should be using QWERTAS with this setup.
User avatar
Kiribati SirCallen
Gendarme
Posts: 8011
ESO: SirCallen
Location: Midwest best west

12 May 2019, 16:27

WickedCossack wrote:
flontier wrote:Is there any left handed here among the top players to post their hotkeys ? I am and I had a hard time to find good set up without having to cross too much my arm on the keyboard.


Not left handed but I do play using my left hand on the mouse so this should still be valid. I also think my hotkeys are not that great but I'm not going to change them after 10 years out of habit, far too much effort. But for your interests the main keys are as follows:

1-3: Army
4: TC
5-6: Rax & Stable
E: Villager & House

I usually rest my first finger on E, and the next fingers on 4, 5 & 6. Thumb chills on the left hand side of the space bar (homecity.)

Use fingers to 1a 2a 3a. I also have idle villager on Q for easy access. S ungarrison at TC.

Other keys you shouldn't copy with this set up I use B for TC (hit with thumb) and G for barracks (also thumb) M&L&I for market, plant & mill (hard to hit.) These if I had the care to do so should all really be moved to W,Z,X etc.

D for dock still works with this though, just want to avoid keys on the right.

I don't use unit hotkeys but if you did you should be using QWERTAS with this setup.

How does this ever work
and the giving famishes the craving
sweet thames, run softly, til I end my song

The shepherd's staff's tantalus around my neck

let the water
touch the tongue
User avatar
Armenia Sargsyan
Jaeger
Donator 01
Posts: 2110
ESO: Sargsyan
Location: Armenia
GameRanger ID: 2106182

12 May 2019, 21:16

Jerimuno wrote:for creating units i use default hotkeys too

there is only one hotkey that i really enjoy using, and couldnt play without, namely shift+y for find idle villagers. by using this you automatically select a group of idle vills which are closeby somewhere on the map (and not all of your idle vils all across the map).

I looked for this hotkey today but couldn't find it, theres only "find idle villager" or "find all idle villagers".
Did you add this hotkey manually into game files ?

Forum Info

Return to “Strategy”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest