Here you can post about your scenario's, mods, custom maps and YouTube channels!
User avatar
Armenia Sargsyan
Jaeger
Donator 01
Posts: 2243
ESO: Sargsyan
Location: Armenia
GameRanger ID: 2106182

15 Sep 2019, 22:23

Kao wrote:
Sargsyan wrote:showing shipment arriving time like it shows to the player ?

This should be possible, we will try to achieve so. It was planned :hehe:.

also would be cool if units in queue also showed the batch completion time as well in the same fashion
Image
Image
User avatar
Turkey HUMMAN
Lancer
Posts: 741
ESO: HUMMAN

15 Sep 2019, 22:48

3 main bars at the middle, eco power, mil power, total res gathered. Remove recalculated eco and just take vils etc. if you can stage coach too. mil power is based on amount of the res units costs, or lets say xp. total res is end game stat.
4 side columns have array of images, have no texts or explanations only images, location of them already means which player has them(left or right). Thus they save space, they can be scrolled down with mouse wheel. 3 of them categorized as desired (units, buildings, techs etc.) 4th them is caster's choice from an array. At the bottom of the 4 columns, selected cards are seen. Bottom screen has only map on left, unit/building UI is on the right as current EP UI.
The top ui can be replaced to bottom but it would be harder to fit but if you can why not.

Where to put current res, vil distribution? I dont know but they dont cover much space so can be found place.
Attachments
xD.png
EZ
xD.png (310.3 KiB) Viewed 397 times
Image
User avatar
Argentina Riotcoke
Jaeger
Donator 01
Posts: 2094
ESO: Riotcoke
Location: Best County in the UK

15 Sep 2019, 22:50

Do you want to clog the ui more, it should be concise rather than obtrusive
Islas Malvinas son Britanicas
User avatar
Turkey HUMMAN
Lancer
Posts: 741
ESO: HUMMAN

15 Sep 2019, 22:57

It is in terms of there will be no texts, also casters and watchers will less focus on what casters select to show; only simple images they are easy to read and doesnt take much space. Currently it is very common for casters to speculate and lose 10-15 seconds to search a tech, units lost etc.(also units can have number right below so no need to scroll over. I can draw a more detailed one but cant bother really, i just gave the idea.
Image
User avatar
Argentina Riotcoke
Jaeger
Donator 01
Posts: 2094
ESO: Riotcoke
Location: Best County in the UK

15 Sep 2019, 22:58

There's a lot of dead time when you're sort of just speculating what someone is doing, so searching for a tech in that time i don't think is bad, it's not like you lose fights because of it etc.
Islas Malvinas son Britanicas
User avatar
Canada Mitoe
ESOC Media Team
EWTNWC LAN Top 8
Posts: 4213
ESO: Mitoe
GameRanger ID: 346407

16 Sep 2019, 07:59

In SC2 you can see what units/buildings players are selecting at any time. I feel like this wouldn’t be possible, and if it is it would probably lag or something, but if it did work it would be an incredible addition to the observer UI.
User avatar
France Kao
ESOC Dev Team
Donator 01
Posts: 109
ESO: filoual

16 Sep 2019, 08:06

Mitoe wrote:In SC2 you can see what units/buildings players are selecting at any time. I feel like this wouldn’t be possible, and if it is it would probably lag or something, but if it did work it would be an incredible addition to the observer UI.

I think it's like the position of the screen on the minimap, not sent through network. (both are suppositions from me)
Image
User avatar
France [Armag] diarouga
Gendarme
NWC LAN Gold
Posts: 9746
ESO: diarouga
Location: France

16 Sep 2019, 08:39

Show APM?
User avatar
France Kao
ESOC Dev Team
Donator 01
Posts: 109
ESO: filoual

16 Sep 2019, 08:48

[Armag] diarouga wrote:Show APM?

Already answered to this. Tho Kev found an idea, we will try to see if it's doable, and most important without any lags.
But I don't understand why people want to see APM so much while a lot of those actions are just useless clicks. Not all, but a lot, transforming APM in something not really concrete nor useful.
Image
User avatar
Kiribati SirCallen
Gendarme
Posts: 8075
ESO: SirCallen
Location: Midwest best west

16 Sep 2019, 09:18

Kao wrote:
[Armag] diarouga wrote:Show APM?

Already answered to this. Tho Kev found an idea, we will try to see if it's doable, and most important without any lags.
But I don't understand why people want to see APM so much while a lot of those actions are just useless clicks. Not all, but a lot, transforming APM in something not really concrete nor useful.

It's fun.
and the giving famishes the craving
sweet thames, run softly, til I end my song

The shepherd's staff's tantalus around my neck

let the water
touch the tongue
Netherlands onabudget
Crossbow
Posts: 19
ESO: onabudget

16 Sep 2019, 09:29

Here's some suggestions from someone who only knows the UI from streams and has never used it personally:

- Observe with delay. Would be awesome for stream chat.
- Show fog of war for only 1 player. (assuming that isn't a feature right now as casters never show it)
I'm not a smurf, I'm just very inconsistent ^_^
Great Britain I_HaRRiiSoN_I
Skirmisher
Posts: 194
Location: United Kingdom

16 Sep 2019, 11:13

Reposted from UI 2.3 thread: (also i think this has been mentioned by people above but i hope this explains a little better)

"have an extra pop up window near to the option for the recalculated eco or a new display option for the bottom part of the UI which shows current gather rate for resources. This would be useful for longer games judging states of eco for example: Player A is on mills with both tech up grades and refrigeration so mill is this gather rate of is 1.5 food/sec per vill, however player B is fishing with just gill nets but has rendering plant and the fish market cards so his boats gather at 1.8 food/sec per boat.

This is not the same as trying to calculate or extract current food/sec being gathered from all sources at that point as it will appear to be messy due to continuously changing as well probably near impossible to do accurately due to any idle time.

The UI would show a hunt icon then a number, wood, coin, mill, plantation, fish, whale (as these are variable and the other income sources in the game are static). (berries could be ignored if space is tight).

The reason I think this is a useful suggestion for implementation is sometimes in a late game where a player may ship Eco theory and the caster says "oh his eco is now 10% better" is usually not true at all and is frustrating due to players having other eco techs/shipments already sent as well as other factors like different villager distribution/upgrade combinations as well as static incomes like TP's / banks / factories."

*note numbers quoted are for example and are not correct"
No Flag harcha
Skirmisher
Posts: 195

16 Sep 2019, 11:38

I_HaRRiiSoN_I wrote:The UI would show a hunt icon then a number, wood, coin, mill, plantation, fish, whale (as these are variable and the other income sources in the game are static). (berries could be ignored if space is tight).

This gets very messy very fast considering there are many different types of eco units like vils, cdb, SW, cannoes,shrines, TPs... you also have to include berries for our rising sun comrades, rice paddy food/farm, rice paddy coin.... not worth the hassle.

HUMMAN wrote:3 main bars at the middle, eco power, mil power, total res gathered. Remove recalculated eco and just take vils etc. if you can stage coach too. mil power is based on amount of the res units costs, or lets say xp. total res is end game stat.

while XP could give a good indication of ones military power similar to mil. pop but better because of accounting for pets and natives, it would be harder for casters to talk about these more abstract things due to loss of words and numbers.

For graphs i think it is fine as is.
For menus main people contributing to this topic should be casters as they are the ones to use this tool, for example, whenever inter casts his superior knowledge of the UI is very apparent as he can almost always show what he is talking about and find the right menu quickly.
Great Britain I_HaRRiiSoN_I
Skirmisher
Posts: 194
Location: United Kingdom

16 Sep 2019, 11:48

.
Great Britain I_HaRRiiSoN_I
Skirmisher
Posts: 194
Location: United Kingdom

16 Sep 2019, 11:50

harcha wrote:
I_HaRRiiSoN_I wrote:
The UI would show a hunt icon then a number, wood, coin, mill, plantation, fish, whale (as these are variable and the other income sources in the game are static). (berries could be ignored if space is tight).

This gets very messy very fast considering there are many different types of eco units like vils, cdb, SW, cannoes,shrines, TPs... you also have to include berries for our rising sun comrades, rice paddy food/farm, rice paddy coin.... not worth the hassle.


Nah it would be fine, Asian civs would still have the mil/plantation icon but the stats would be drawn from the rice paddies. You would treat CDB/SW as single villagers e.g. 1 SW gathers 1 wood/s but the entire german villager eco would still say 0.5 wood per second as 1 SW is essentially 2 normal vills.

Berries could be added aswell as these are affected by the asian market techs CC/IB as well as jap techs / cards.

Cannoes still gather a rate relevant to fishing boats, the canoe may gather at 1/3 of a fishing boat (i think) but the base rate of what that fishing boat is gathering can be displayed.

If I havent mentioned already this does not includes static resource generators like shrines TP's etc as you can see their gather rate just by clicking on them. Your suggestions are valid but are just over complicating a simple idea[/quote]
User avatar
Argentina Riotcoke
Jaeger
Donator 01
Posts: 2094
ESO: Riotcoke
Location: Best County in the UK

16 Sep 2019, 11:55

harcha wrote:
I_HaRRiiSoN_I wrote:The UI would show a hunt icon then a number, wood, coin, mill, plantation, fish, whale (as these are variable and the other income sources in the game are static). (berries could be ignored if space is tight).

This gets very messy very fast considering there are many different types of eco units like vils, cdb, SW, cannoes,shrines, TPs... you also have to include berries for our rising sun comrades, rice paddy food/farm, rice paddy coin.... not worth the hassle.

HUMMAN wrote:3 main bars at the middle, eco power, mil power, total res gathered. Remove recalculated eco and just take vils etc. if you can stage coach too. mil power is based on amount of the res units costs, or lets say xp. total res is end game stat.

while XP could give a good indication of ones military power similar to mil. pop but better because of accounting for pets and natives, it would be harder for casters to talk about these more abstract things due to loss of words and numbers.

For graphs i think it is fine as is.
For menus main people contributing to this topic should be casters as they are the ones to use this tool, for example, whenever inter casts his superior knowledge of the UI is very apparent as he can almost always show what he is talking about and find the right menu quickly.

I think it's important to realise that 9/10 the most useful pieces in the menu will be Shipments sent, because it's pretty important to see what/when a player has sent an important shipment, units in queue/military units because these are the most important in judging the outcomes in fights. Things like techs being researched are also nice but a lot of the time you can tell when a tech is researched or being being researched when you click on a unit. Three at the bottom sort of fixes this as you want to at least one of these important metrics open at all times to be able to read the pace of the game, with a third instead of the current two you can have two open at all times, e.g having units in queue and shipments sent, while also being able to then check on stuff that isn't important 90 percent of the time.
Islas Malvinas son Britanicas
Brazil Youssef
Crossbow
Posts: 42
ESO: Youssef2709

16 Sep 2019, 12:50

units and building lost in resources.
No Flag harcha
Skirmisher
Posts: 195

16 Sep 2019, 13:35

I_HaRRiiSoN_I wrote:Your suggestions are valid but are just over complicating a simple idea

Treating CDBs same as vils - so you essentially display two vastly different numbers or do you adjust the cdb number to fit a villager, or do you normalize both to percentages, 100% being a unupgraded basic villager, do you then normalize the french values?

Then all the various sources for one resources is still a mess? What if one side has villagers constantly gathering due to good map control and even spreading while other has constant walking from hunt to hunt due to bad map control or bad macro? What is the point of this indication then?

Can't really group mills together with ricefood/farms due to different base gather rates and walking mechanic, same with plantations and ricegold.

I think its best we leave vil techs as something you find by clicking on vils. I think all this additional info overcomplicates the UI. In the end often macro stuff will be of more importance than the number of upgrades one has over the other, considering that people avoid playing mirrors.

I do think it would be good if a villager working on a mill would show the mill upgrades and etc (not sure how it is currently).
User avatar
Netherlands Goodspeed
Retired Contributor
EPL Reigning Champs
Posts: 7968

16 Sep 2019, 15:00

@Aizamk
You could steal ideas from the spectator mode they used for ECL https://www.twitch.tv/escapeaoe/videos
And from SC2's observer mode https://www.twitch.tv/gsl/videos

The biggest thing I would like is to always show all techs in queue (maybe including shipments) like they do in AoE2 observer mode, instead of needing the casters to manually switch to it.
User avatar
France Kao
ESOC Dev Team
Donator 01
Posts: 109
ESO: filoual

16 Sep 2019, 18:06

Goodspeed wrote:The biggest thing I would like is to always show all techs in queue (maybe including shipments) like they do in AoE2 observer mode, instead of needing the casters to manually switch to it.

That's something we're thinking about and trying to see how we could achieve it hehe.
Image
User avatar
Netherlands Mr_Bramboy
ESOC Media Team
Donator 01
Posts: 5554
ESO: mr_bramboy
Location: Amsterdam

16 Sep 2019, 20:22

Show villagers lost on the side, like in SC2
User avatar
France Kao
ESOC Dev Team
Donator 01
Posts: 109
ESO: filoual

16 Sep 2019, 20:30

Do you have any picture as example? I'm a lazy man, as all devs should be :hehe:.
@Mr_Bramboy
Image
User avatar
Netherlands Mr_Bramboy
ESOC Media Team
Donator 01
Posts: 5554
ESO: mr_bramboy
Location: Amsterdam

16 Sep 2019, 21:01

Kao wrote:Do you have any picture as example? I'm a lazy man, as all devs should be :hehe:.
@Mr_Bramboy

http://prntscr.com/p6z9sw

Left side. It shows how many workers were lost in the last x seconds.
User avatar
France Kao
ESOC Dev Team
Donator 01
Posts: 109
ESO: filoual

16 Sep 2019, 21:05

Mr_Bramboy wrote:
Kao wrote:Do you have any picture as example? I'm a lazy man, as all devs should be :hehe:.
@Mr_Bramboy

http://prntscr.com/p6z9sw

Left side. It shows how many workers were lost in the last x seconds.

Where are decided those last X seconds?

And for AOE3, you would like to it to be for all lost villagers or same as in SC2, lost in the last x?
Image
User avatar
Netherlands Mr_Bramboy
ESOC Media Team
Donator 01
Posts: 5554
ESO: mr_bramboy
Location: Amsterdam

16 Sep 2019, 21:48

Kao wrote:
Mr_Bramboy wrote:
Kao wrote:Do you have any picture as example? I'm a lazy man, as all devs should be :hehe:.
@Mr_Bramboy

http://prntscr.com/p6z9sw

Left side. It shows how many workers were lost in the last x seconds.

Where are decided those last X seconds?

And for AOE3, you would like to it to be for all lost villagers or same as in SC2, lost in the last x?

In the last - say 15 - seconds. The idea is to highlight the number of lost villagers easily. Think of a hectic situation like a Russian rush vs India where the Indian player is fighting tooth and nail to survive. This addition would allow spectators to easily see the number of lost villagers.

In SC2, the popup doesn't disappear if a villager has been killed in the last x seconds. So if a player loses villagers continuously for two minutes without any gap longer than 15 seconds in between the massacre, the number on the popup would be cumulative.

Forum Info

Return to “User-created Content”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest