AoE III for MacOS in VM (Launch Error)

No Flag Yaxche
Crossbow

AoE III for MacOS in VM (Launch Error)

Post by Yaxche »

Hello Everyone,

I have tried my best to resolve this issue on my own, and I understand that this forum is primarily focused on the PC version of the game, but I figured I would ask here just in case someone can help...

I have been playing the Mac version (by MacSoft) of AoE III for many years and with the recent discontinuation of 32-bit support in MacOS 10.15, I have hit a bit of a wall. Since it is a 32-bit app, it only runs on old versions of MacOS.

I have seen that many people are installing old versions of MacOS in virtual machines to run their old 32-bit apps, so I figured I would give it a try with AoE III. Unfortunately I have been getting an issue when trying to launch the game, that I never experienced on any of my old Macs running versions of MacOS earlier than 10.14. When I launch the game, I get a pop-up that says, “An unrecoverable error has occurred, and Age of Empires III cannot continue.” The game then quits without launching.

I have tried two different setups and get this issue each time. One is a MacMini running MacOS 10.14 in VMWare, and the other is a MacBook Air running MacOS X 10.7 on Parallels.

From what I have read about this issue, it seems to have something to do with the game checking for proper graphics cards requirements before starting. I couldn’t find much about this issue on Mac, just Windows. Nevertheless, I have tried some of the solutions that worked for the Windows version with no success. I tried editing the NewProfile.xml file for both the resolution and the window mode. I also have fiddled with the VM settings by turning on 3D graphics acceleration, adding additional graphics memory (up to 512MB), and making sure to have installed VMWare tools and Parallels tools on the guest OS.