my aoe3 story

General forum about Age of Empires 3 DE. Please post strategy threads, recorded games, user-created content and tech support threads in their respective forum.
Netherlands don_artie
Dragoon
ESO: don artie

my aoe3 story

Post by don_artie »

Hey everyone, for those interested I felt like making a long story about my aoe3 experience (with a little bit of real life attached to it). Last year september I quit my job to become a full time poker player, and I was playing some aoe3 on the side. I was a teamgame only player bouncing between pr31 and p32. Mid october we had the DE release and I started playing team games there instead, in particular with davesanlol (the guy with the most team games on the ladder). We were improving and taking down some people in 2v2's or 3v3's that I wasn't expecting to ever be able to beat, and I had a great time. Eventually we had a falling out in december (argument after a game that went sour) and we stopped playing together, I'd say we were equally at fault, anyway shit happens. Seeing as I lost my partner in crime and I didn't really enjoy the team game system on DE I felt like if I wanted to continue playing aoe3 I have to start focussing on 1v1. At the time I wasn't really in a poker mood and I decided to take a break from poker. I've done well for myself with poker in general and got some decent savings to live my life with. Taking a break from poker caused me to have a high amount of spare time and I put most of this into aoe3. So towards the end of last year is where my 1v1 journey began