Portuguese builds

Great Britain andrewgs
Musketeer

Portuguese builds

Post by andrewgs »

I'd like to summarize a few things I've learned over way too many games with ports. I wanted to work out optimal builds, which meant comparing livestock to gather rate cards, and 10/10 age ups to 12 or 13 vil age ups. I started playing other civs but realised I should probably write builds down before I forget them, and that 10/10s are pretty good so I went back to playing ports and wrote this... And there's still some crate spam builds I want to try, and I've completely ignored water here.

Age 1 Options
Portugal gain a town centre wagon on age up which makes idling your town centre to age up faster better than completing a villager and having food to spare when clicking age up, as you'll get back that extra vil from the new town center earlier. Portugal start with 7 villagers so you need to decide which build you're doing, and whether you need to chop for a house quickly or be housed. Before considering treasures, there's 7 conceivable starts:
  • 10v (save 200w)
  • 10v, trading post
  • 11v, house (save 100w)
  • 12v, house (save 100w)
  • 13v, trading post, house (chop 100w)
  • 13v, market+hunting dogs, house (chop 50w, mine 50c)
  • 14v?, trading post, market+hunting dogs, house  (chop 150w, mine 50c)
Use your first spyglass to scout the nearby area or area just beyond a trading post to determine what treasures are available early enough to speed up your build. These can allow you to age a villager earlier on the builds which need chopping or mining. I think the 13v trading post build is better than the 13v market+hunting dogs build as you'll have ~2mins of extra xp from the trading post. With a 85w+ treasure and building a house or the +5 pop space the 10v age up can become 11v to reduce town centre idle time.