General forum about Age of Empires 3 DE. Please post strategy threads, recorded games, user-created content and tech support threads in their respective forum.
User avatar
European Union aaryngend
Lancer
Posts: 838
ESO: Aaryn_GenD
Location: Germany
Clan: N3O

19 Nov 2020, 06:18

https://www.ageofempires.com/news/aoe3de-hotfix-6847/

Good day, everyone! Today’s small update introduces a handful of fixes for issues that continue to disrupt normal play. The team is continuing to work on improvements to the game based on feedback and issues identified by the community, so keep weighing in on the topics that are most important to you on the official forums or Steam discussions.

We will be watching the performance of today’s hotfix as we continue to prepare a new game build with additional fixes and additions. We’re here for the long run, and appreciate everyone who has been communicative and constructive in helping us improve the game over the past month!

—The Age of Empires Team

GAME

Stability & Performance

- Fixed an issue where players would receive a “low disk space” warning when queuing for multiplayer matches.

Audio

- Added new voice-over lines for Chinese units.

GAMEPLAY

- Reverted the change which encouraged Settlers to seek out and collect distant resources, as it could lead to several unintended behaviors.
- Corrected an issue where the building and upgrade buttons could shift down in the UI after receiving certain cards from the Home City, thus making them inaccessible.
User avatar
Seychelles SirCallen
Ninja
EPL Reigning ChampsDonator 03
Posts: 11557
ESO: lil' vit
Location: Midwest best west

19 Nov 2020, 06:22

wait, is DE good now?
Hier bin i'.
User avatar
Latvia harcha
Jaeger
Posts: 2170
ESO: hatamoto_samurai

19 Nov 2020, 06:26

Short changelist but at least they're working, nice to know.
User avatar
European Union aaryngend
Lancer
Posts: 838
ESO: Aaryn_GenD
Location: Germany
Clan: N3O

19 Nov 2020, 06:33

SirCallen wrote:wait, is DE good now?
I wanted to use the
Image
meme but realized that I would have to lie in this case... so I refrain from doing it.
Nevertheless, it is fairly good now, with the shift-bug gone and more shenanigans fixed, like clicks not registering well.

But we still can't view Ladder page 2...
No Flag helln00
Lancer
Posts: 522
ESO: helln00

19 Nov 2020, 06:36

lol I was so surprised by the new chinese voices when I played this morning
User avatar
Great Britain TheNameDaniel
Advanced Player
Donator 01
Posts: 630
ESO: danielek
Location: UK

19 Nov 2020, 15:01

Why did a 43.5 Mb update take so long for me to update... preallocating space took 5 mins, the download took 1 second then the disk usage was constantly at 100-150mbps for 15 mins for a fucking 43.5mb file this is insane
Image
User avatar
European Union scarm
Dragoon
Posts: 351
ESO: Malebranche

19 Nov 2020, 15:02

Its the ransomware you got with the package deal
User avatar
Great Britain Riotcoke
ESOC Media Team
Donator 01
Posts: 3606
ESO: Riotcoke
Location: Dorsetshire
Clan: UwU

19 Nov 2020, 15:09

TheNameDaniel wrote:Why did a 43.5 Mb update take so long for me to update... preallocating space took 5 mins, the download took 1 second then the disk usage was constantly at 100-150mbps for 15 mins for a fucking 43.5mb file this is insane

The game basically has to reinstall itself as it checks the previous data first and then installs the new data.
Positive arguments for video games collective financing model develop an emancipatory-utopian framework, which is critical with publishers, libertarian with users, and melancholic-postmodern with the content developed in the past..
User avatar
India Challenger_Marco
Howdah
Posts: 1844
ESO: challenger_marco

19 Nov 2020, 15:11

TheNameDaniel wrote:Why did a 43.5 Mb update take so long for me to update... preallocating space took 5 mins, the download took 1 second then the disk usage was constantly at 100-150mbps for 15 mins for a fucking 43.5mb file this is insane

same here.
User avatar
Latvia harcha
Jaeger
Posts: 2170
ESO: hatamoto_samurai

19 Nov 2020, 15:49

i feel like my performance has been significantly reduced, at least halved. i'm playing on linux. will keep checking

also random crashes keep going on. so far i've had my game completely freeze once on 6847 and twice on the previous patch
User avatar
Great Britain I_HaRRiiSoN_I
Lancer
Posts: 942
Location: United Kingdom

19 Nov 2020, 17:38

yeah your right its taking fucking ages to even start updating
User avatar
Great Britain CuCkO0
Dragoon
Posts: 324
ESO: CuCkO0
Location: Britain

19 Nov 2020, 19:42

Mine took a few minutes I swear? What potatoes are you guys running your interthenets on? You all live in the desert running sand fibre+?
KINGofOsmane wrote:If Elo is down what are we even fighting for


Image
User avatar
Czech Republic EAGLEMUT
ESOC Dev Team
Donator 05
Posts: 4156
ESO: EAGLEMUT
Clan: WPact

19 Nov 2020, 20:38

CuCkO0 wrote:Mine took a few minutes I swear? What potatoes are you guys running your interthenets on? You all live in the desert running sand fibre+?

It's not about internet. The transferred files are in fact very small, but this comes at the cost of repackaging the game's huge data archives in order to apply changes. The packaging process can take quite a while, depending mostly on speed of the drive where AoE3 is locally installed.
User avatar
Great Britain CuCkO0
Dragoon
Posts: 324
ESO: CuCkO0
Location: Britain

19 Nov 2020, 23:02

Come on eaglemut, I couldn’t of made that post anymore sarcastic if I tried. You’re better than this.

But thank you for teaching me something new honey pie x
KINGofOsmane wrote:If Elo is down what are we even fighting for


Image
User avatar
Serbia ShinkuroYukinari
Skirmisher
Posts: 186
ESO: ShinkuroYukinari
Clan: 69420

20 Nov 2020, 10:03

harcha wrote:i feel like my performance has been significantly reduced, at least halved. i'm playing on linux. will keep checking

also random crashes keep going on. so far i've had my game completely freeze once on 6847 and twice on the previous patch

I've played some campaign maps yesterday on my Mint and I haven't noticed any new performance issues. I'll try playing some MP today, maybe it's due to that in particular.
What is more cancerous? Javascript, Dota2 ranked or people who spam Doppelsoldners vs my France? :?:

The girl's Yukinya btw
User avatar
Latvia harcha
Jaeger
Posts: 2170
ESO: hatamoto_samurai

20 Nov 2020, 11:00

@ShinkuroYukinari seemed to run better after restart
User avatar
European Union aaryngend
Lancer
Posts: 838
ESO: Aaryn_GenD
Location: Germany
Clan: N3O

20 Nov 2020, 13:13

This update seems to bring back the memory leak? After long teamgames, the probability of a crash is so much higher if you keep playing without restarting.
Had another crash while we were about to win that one 2v2.. I hope it wasn't done deliberately by abusing some OOS bug... :hmm:

Also, did the Hauds lose the 2nd wood crate at game start?? They start with 100 :coin: and 100 :wood: now. Did I miss something or why wasn't this in any kind of patch note? I know this was a hotfix, but the patch before didn't seem to introduce this change either.
How am I able to start with a TP every game now ?!? :cry:
Cba to find a wood treasure or gather myself..
No Flag helln00
Lancer
Posts: 522
ESO: helln00

20 Nov 2020, 13:25

I havent really felt anything, if anything all of my usual crash cases (long comp stomp games) seems to be gone
No Flag helln00
Lancer
Posts: 522
ESO: helln00

20 Nov 2020, 16:55

Correction there is probably a memory leak, its using 77% of my memory somehow, even on relatively low settings
User avatar
Latvia harcha
Jaeger
Posts: 2170
ESO: hatamoto_samurai

20 Nov 2020, 17:30

helln00 wrote:Correction there is probably a memory leak, its using 77% of my memory somehow, even on relatively low settings

77% of what? and 100% of that 77% is age?
User avatar
Tuvalu gibson
Ninja
Posts: 11654
Location: USA

20 Nov 2020, 17:36

helln00 wrote:Correction there is probably a memory leak, its using 77% of my memory somehow, even on relatively low settings
been having a similar issue. Sometimes the game uses 2 gb of ram, other times it uses 7 haha
No Flag helln00
Lancer
Posts: 522
ESO: helln00

20 Nov 2020, 17:38

harcha wrote:
helln00 wrote:Correction there is probably a memory leak, its using 77% of my memory somehow, even on relatively low settings

77% of what? and 100% of that 77% is age?

77% of 16gb
User avatar
United States of America SoldieR
Pro Player
Posts: 2093
ESO: SoldieR
Location: Chi City

20 Nov 2020, 17:52

aaryngend wrote:This update seems to bring back the memory leak? After long teamgames, the probability of a crash is so much higher if you keep playing without restarting.
Had another crash while we were about to win that one 2v2.. I hope it wasn't done deliberately by abusing some OOS bug... :hmm:

Also, did the Hauds lose the 2nd wood crate at game start?? They start with 100 :coin: and 100 :wood: now. Did I miss something or why wasn't this in any kind of patch note? I know this was a hotfix, but the patch before didn't seem to introduce this change either.
How am I able to start with a TP every game now ?!? :cry:
Cba to find a wood treasure or gather myself..

Iirc iro has not started with 200w in like 3 years of EPs
User avatar
Canada Mitoe
Advanced Theory Craftsman
EWTNWC LAN Top 8EPL Reigning Champs
Posts: 4989
ESO: Mitoe
GameRanger ID: 346407

20 Nov 2020, 18:04

aaryngend wrote:This update seems to bring back the memory leak? After long teamgames, the probability of a crash is so much higher if you keep playing without restarting.
Had another crash while we were about to win that one 2v2.. I hope it wasn't done deliberately by abusing some OOS bug... :hmm:

Also, did the Hauds lose the 2nd wood crate at game start?? They start with 100 :coin: and 100 :wood: now. Did I miss something or why wasn't this in any kind of patch note? I know this was a hotfix, but the patch before didn't seem to introduce this change either.
How am I able to start with a TP every game now ?!? :cry:
Cba to find a wood treasure or gather myself..

haud.png
haud.png (222.2 KiB) Viewed 391 times


From day 1 release log: https://www.ageofempires.com/news/aoe3de-baseline-update/
User avatar
European Union aaryngend
Lancer
Posts: 838
ESO: Aaryn_GenD
Location: Germany
Clan: N3O

21 Nov 2020, 10:01

Mitoe wrote:
aaryngend wrote:This update seems to bring back the memory leak? After long teamgames, the probability of a crash is so much higher if you keep playing without restarting.
Had another crash while we were about to win that one 2v2.. I hope it wasn't done deliberately by abusing some OOS bug... :hmm:

Also, did the Hauds lose the 2nd wood crate at game start?? They start with 100 :coin: and 100 :wood: now. Did I miss something or why wasn't this in any kind of patch note? I know this was a hotfix, but the patch before didn't seem to introduce this change either.
How am I able to start with a TP every game now ?!? :cry:
Cba to find a wood treasure or gather myself..

haud.png


From day 1 release log: https://www.ageofempires.com/news/aoe3de-baseline-update/
But those are the Day 1 patch notes! I could SWEAR that I started with 200 :wood: some weeks ago... :hmm:
Thought that got changed in later builds.. I guess not...
Or my mind is playing tricks on me.. or did I play legacy during that time ??! :cry:
Too confusing, thanks anyway Michael :pop:

Forum Info

Return to “General”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests