User avatar
France Rikikipu
ESOC Maps Team
Posts: 1669
ESO: p-of
Location: In your base

29 Dec 2017, 17:21

Hello guys ! Wanna play the best game ever on the best Operating System ? Let's make it real and easy !

~ Tested on Ubuntu 17.10 and Wine 2.0.2 and Age of Empires III Complete collection on Steam ~

1) First download wine :

Code: Select all

$   sudo apt-get install wine-stable


2) Dowload SteamSetup.exe and open it with Wine :

Code: Select all

$   wine SteamSetup.exe

Install steam and once finished, download Age of Empires III Complete collection with Steam client.
Now, you should have a lot of bugs trying to run AOE 3. We are going to fix them all.

3)Download winetricks and all the fixes needed :

Code: Select all

$   sudo apt-get install winetricks
$   winetricks --force corefonts dsound l3codecx quartz
$   winetricks -q mfc42
$   winetricks d3dx9
$   winetricks dotnet20


4) After AOE3 is installed and before launching it, I advice you to go to ~/Documents/My Games/Age Of Empires 3/Users for Vanilla game or ~/Documents/My Games/Age Of Empires 3/Users3 for The Asian Dynasty, and edit NewProfile.xml with a text editor. Find this line :

Code: Select all

<Setting Name="optiongrfxwindowmode">false</Setting>

and replace it by :

Code: Select all

<Setting Name="optiongrfxwindowmode">true</Setting>

Indeed, in sone situation, not enabling window mode can make Ubuntu crashing.

5) Restart Wine and AOE3 should work now !


Note :
  • corefonts : fixes the issue where you can not enter cd key password properly.
  • dsound : fixes Fraunhofer sound issue.
  • l3codecx : fixes the issue where the game is in a super small window.
  • mfc42 : fixes the PID issue after writing CD key.
  • d3dx9 and dotnet20 : fixes the issue where the game is lagging super hard or crashing after the cinematics. You need to have a wine 32 bits version and not 64 bits version in order to download dotnet20, otherwise the game will likely crash after the cinematics
User avatar
Tuvalu gibson
Ninja
Posts: 11654
Location: USA

29 Dec 2017, 17:25

linux LOL
User avatar
Czech Republic EAGLEMUT
ESOC Dev Team
Donator 05
Posts: 4156
ESO: EAGLEMUT
Clan: WPact

29 Dec 2017, 17:35

Nice! Does EP work too, after these changes?
Image
momuuu wrote:theres no way eaglemut is truly a top player
User avatar
France Rikikipu
ESOC Maps Team
Posts: 1669
ESO: p-of
Location: In your base

29 Dec 2017, 17:36

gibson wrote:linux LOL

You spend your days using Linux, why not playing AOE3 on it afterall ?
User avatar
France Rikikipu
ESOC Maps Team
Posts: 1669
ESO: p-of
Location: In your base

29 Dec 2017, 17:39

EAGLEMUT wrote:Nice! Does EP work too, after these changes?

I don't know, I got to check it, I'm like 50% sure.
User avatar
Sweden Gendarme
Gendarme
Donator 03
Posts: 5132
ESO: Gendarme

29 Dec 2017, 18:28

I never had trouble running RE, but EP was totally RIP. Furthermore, I remember I couldn't run VPN with the game on the newer Ubuntu versions. I had no trouble with it before, but on the newer versions I got "Cannot determine IP address" (or something similar).
Pay more attention to detail.https://pastebin.com/KEuaQCrR
Greece alienflorina
Crossbow
Posts: 43
ESO: BADSTUBER
Location: Greece

03 Oct 2018, 10:24

Is there a way to install EP on linux.. I'm stuck with my laptop because I'm travelling and I only run kubuntu on it. The game runs perfectly using the new proton steam play compatibility layer but I can't install the EP :/
User avatar
France Rikikipu
ESOC Maps Team
Posts: 1669
ESO: p-of
Location: In your base

03 Oct 2018, 11:50

I replied in PM, if anyone needs more info about EP on Linux, PM me
Vietnam Hazza54321
Pro Player
Winter Champion 2020 x2Donator 01
Posts: 7434
ESO: PrinceofBabu

04 Oct 2018, 11:52

Linux sucks
User avatar
Sweden Gendarme
Gendarme
Donator 03
Posts: 5132
ESO: Gendarme

04 Oct 2018, 12:41

I am triggered. @Sargsyan
Pay more attention to detail.https://pastebin.com/KEuaQCrR
India Ashvin
Retired Contributor
Posts: 2379
ESO: Octanium

04 Oct 2018, 14:34

My reaction
Image
User avatar
Netherlands edeholland
ESOC Community Team
Donator 01
Posts: 4690
ESO: edeholland
GameRanger ID: 4053888
Clan: ESOC

04 Oct 2018, 14:55

Please a guide on how to make those triggered gifs.
User avatar
Sweden Gendarme
Gendarme
Donator 03
Posts: 5132
ESO: Gendarme

04 Oct 2018, 15:59

Step 1: Select image

Step 2: Ask Gendarme to make it a triggered GIF

Step 3: ???

Step 4: T R I G G E R E D
Pay more attention to detail.https://pastebin.com/KEuaQCrR
No Flag icex
Crossbow
Posts: 5
ESO: icex

03 Nov 2018, 02:34

How do I download updates and use them? I get now error if I try log to in ESO? Is it update problem or some other?
User avatar
Turkey geryit
Crossbow
Donator 01
Posts: 12
ESO: geryit
Location: helsinki

15 Nov 2018, 08:16

@Rikikipu I have a dell xps 15 9570 laptop and trying to play this on ubuntu. Everything is fine until I skip the intro. Window closes after intro. I tried with both nvidia and intel graphics card. Is there anyone you made tad on ubuntu?

Note: Im trying to run in via lutris - wine stream
United States of America davbot
Crossbow
Posts: 4

21 Nov 2020, 19:22

I have tried this on lubuntu 20.04 LTS and AOE3 launches, but then the Wine debug screen comes up, but the music is still playing. I have also tried deleting the .xml file in the Users folder as suggested by other folks. Would you just recommend downloading the version of Wine that you used.

Thanks for any tips,
David
User avatar
Latvia harcha
Jaeger
Posts: 2169
ESO: hatamoto_samurai

21 Nov 2020, 19:32

@davbot just to clarify are you playing the legacy AOE3 or AOE3DE? Asking because there is another tutorial for AOE3DE.
User avatar
Serbia ShinkuroYukinari
Skirmisher
Posts: 186
ESO: ShinkuroYukinari
Clan: 69420

21 Nov 2020, 19:52

davbot wrote:I have tried this on lubuntu 20.04 LTS and AOE3 launches, but then the Wine debug screen comes up, but the music is still playing. I have also tried deleting the .xml file in the Users folder as suggested by other folks. Would you just recommend downloading the version of Wine that you used.

Thanks for any tips,
David

If it's the old AOE3, there is a much simper guide available at least for installing AOE3 via Steam and Proton. Just install protontricks and follow what the guides suggest.
https://www.protondb.com/app/105450
If it's AOE3DE, then it's easy as pie, just install proton and you're set.
What is more cancerous? Javascript, Dota2 ranked or people who spam Doppelsoldners vs my France? :?:

The girl's Yukinya btw
United States of America davbot
Crossbow
Posts: 4

22 Nov 2020, 00:15

@harcha @ShinkuroYukinari
I am playing the normal AOE3
United States of America davbot
Crossbow
Posts: 4

22 Nov 2020, 00:20

Should I download the steam Linux thing off the steam website, or should I follow these instructions: 1.- Go to: https://wiki.winehq.org/Winetricks#Inst ... winetricks then in the installing winetricks part do what it says. 2.- Go to https://github.com/Matoking/protontricks and follow instructions for your distro 3.- On the terminal put "protontricks 105450 mfc42 winxp l3codecx" and finally run the game
Thanks
User avatar
European Union scarm
Dragoon
Posts: 351
ESO: Malebranche

22 Nov 2020, 07:36

Just install Steam for Linux (Native Version). The most recent version of Proton will be installed when you play a game that isn't natively running then. For DE you should be fine from the get-go, for legacy you need to go to properties --> general --> force the use of a specific steam play compatability tool --> Proton 4.11.13. and run the commands the guys on proton db specified.

Proton is essentially an evolved or specialised version of wine by valve, which is integrated in steam.
United States of America davbot
Crossbow
Posts: 4

23 Nov 2020, 22:40

Thanks everyone, that worked and I was able to join a LAN game. Now for my evil plan (okay its not actually evil): Image
1. Setup LTSPhttps://ltsp.org/
2. Boot many computers and play AOE

Forum Info

Return to “Tech Support”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests